History of the Ministry of Infrastructure (MININFRA)

The MININFRA office is located in Kaciyru, Kigali, in the District of Gasabo.

The name MININFRA is recent. Over the years, the Ministry has had many different incarnations, the chronological list of its names is as follows:

  • 1962 to 1965: Ministry for Technical Businesses
  • 1965 to 1973: Ministry of Public services
  • 1973 to 1980: Ministry of Public Services and Energy
  • 1980 to 1994: Ministry of Public Services, Water and Energy
  • 1994 to 1997: Ministry of Public Services and Energy
  • 1997 to 1999: Ministry of Public Services (MINITRAP)
  • 1999 to 2002: Ministry of Public Services, Transport and Communication        (MINITRACO)
  • November 15, 2002 to date: Ministry of Infrastructure (MININFRA).